

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 68

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Second Session

Twenty-Second Legislature

Friday, June 22, 1990

The Speaker took the Chair at 10:00 a.m.

ROUTINE

Introduction of Bills (First Reading)

Notice having been given:

Bill 232 An Act to Amend Certain Statutes on Maintenance — Ms M. Laing

Tabling Returns and Reports

Hon. Mr. Isley, Minister of Agriculture, pursuant to the Marketing of Agricultural Products Act, cM-5.1, s14(1), 1987 Statutes:

Alberta Agricultural Products Marketing Council, Annual Report 1988-89 Sessional Paper 15/90

Mr. Bruseker, Hon. Member for Calgary North-West:

Letter and survey to all 1989 licensed "T" outfitters of Alberta, dated April 15, 1990

Sessional Paper 352/90

1

Oral Question Period

Mr. McInnis, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Jasper Place:

Letter from Hon. Mr. Fjordbotten, Minister of Forestry, Lands and Wildlife, to Mr. Boyd regarding big game farming

Sessional Paper 583/90

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

Hon. Mr. Stewart, Deputy Government House Leader, moved that pursuant to Standing Order 21, debate on Bill 37, Alberta Government Telephones Reorganization Act, be not further adjourned.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. The names called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 40

Adair	Fjordbotten	McCoy
Anderson	Fowler	Mirosh
Black	Gesell	Moore
Bogle	Getty	Musgrove
Bradley	Horsman	Nelson
Brassard	Hyland	Oldring
Calahasen	Isley	Payne
Cardinal	Johnston	Rostad
Cherry	Jonson	Severtson
Clegg	Klein	Sparrow
Day	Laing (Calgary-Bow)	Stewart
Drobot	Main	Tannas
Elzinga	McClellan	Thurber
Fischer		

Against the motion: 19

Barrett	Hewes	Pashak
Bruseker	Laing (Edmonton-Avonmore)	Roberts
Doyle	Martin	Sigurdson
Ewasiuk	McEachern	Taylor
Fox	McInnis	Wickman
Gibeault	Mjolsness	Woloshyn
Hawkesworth	-	-

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 37 Alberta Government Telephones Reorganization Act — Hon. Mr. Stewart

Debate continued on the sub-amendment moved by Mr. Ewasiuk, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Beverly, on June 18, 1990, to an amendment moved by Ms Barrett, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Highlands, on June 12, 1990. The amendment to the motion for Second reading read as follows:

striking all the words after "that" and substituting:

"Bill 37, Alberta Government Telephones Reorganization Act, be not now read a Second time, because this House believes in the principle of a public utility being operated with a primary mandate of serving the interests of the public in a fair, equitable, and affordable fashion, which could be superseded by the Bill, which makes possible providing handsome profit opportunities for the shareholders, who could be as few as 20 individuals or corporations."

The amendment to the amendment read as follows:

adding after "20 individuals or corporations":

", and because this House believes that any foreign ownership or partial ownership of a public utility in Alberta is wholly inappropriate."

The question being put, the sub-amendment was defeated. The names being called for were taken as follows:

For the sub-amendment: 12

Barrett	Hawkesworth	Mjolsness
Ewasiuk	Laing (Edmonton-Avonmore)	Roberts
Fox	Martin	Sigurdson
Gibeault	McEachern	Woloshyn

Against the sub-amendment: 36

Anderson	Elzinga	Mirosh
Black	Fischer	Moore
Bogle	Fjordbotten	Musgrove
Bradley	Gesell	Oldring
Brassard	Isley	Payne
Bruseker	Johnston	Rostad
Calahasen	Jonson	Severtson
Cherry	Klein	Sparrow
Clegg	Kowalski	Stewart
Day	Laing (Calgary-Bow)	Tannas
Drobot	Main	Taylor
Elliott	McClellan	Thurber

A debate followed on the amendment.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. The names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 10

Barrett	Hawkesworth	Martin
Ewasiuk	Laing (Edmonton-Avonmore)	Sigurdson
Fox	McEachern	Woloshyn
Gibeault		

Against the amendment: 31

Anderson	Drobot	McCoy
Black	Elliott	Mirosh
Bogle	Fischer	Moore
Bradley	Gesell	Musgrove
Brassard	Isley	Payne
Bruseker	Johnston	Rostad
Calahasen	Kowalski	Severtson
Cardinal	Laing (Calgary-Bow)	Stewart
Cherry	Main	Tannas
Clegg	McClellan	Thurber
Day		

Pursuant to Standing Order 21, the question being put, the motion for Second Reading was agreed to. The names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 30

Gibeault

Anderson	Day	McClellan
Black	Drobot	McCoy
Bogle	Elliott	Mirosh
Bradley	Fischer	Moore
Brassard	Gesell	Musgrove
Bruseker	Isley	Rostad
Calahasen	Johnston	Severtson
Cardinal	Kowalski	Stewart
Cherry	Laing (Calgary-Bow)	Tannas
Clegg	Main	Thurber
Against the motion: 10		
Barrett	Hawkesworth	McEachern
Ewasiuk	Laing (Edmonton-Avonmore)	Sigurdson
Fox	Martin	Woloshyn

4

The following Bill was read a Second time and referred to Committee of the Whole:

Bill 37 Alberta Government Telephones Reorganization Act — Hon. Mr. Stewart

Adjournment

The Assembly adjourned at 1:18 p.m. until Monday, June 25, 1990, at 2:30 p.m.

NOTICES

Leave to Introduce a Bill

- Bill 231 Public Service Pay Equity Act Mr. Decore
- Bill 233 Quality Child Day Care Standards Act Mrs. Hewes
- Bill 235 An Act to Amend the School Act Mrs. Gagnon
- Bill 236 Instructional Materials Production Act Mr. Jonson
- Bill 237 An Act to Amend the Dairy Board Act Mr. Taylor
- Bill 239 Environmental Impact Assessment Act Mr. McInnis
- Bill 240 An Act to Amend the Hail and Crop Insurance Act Mr. Taylor
- Bill 242 School User Fees Elimination Act Mr. Woloshyn
- Bill 247 Justice Review Committee Act Mr. Day
- Bill 248 An Act to Amend the School Act Mrs. Gagnon
- Bill 249 Native Peoples Representation Act Ms Calahasen
- Bill 250 An Act to Amend the Hail and Crop Insurance Act Mr. Paszkowski
- Bill 252 An Act to Amend the Universities Act Mrs. Gagnon
- Bill 253 Alberta Farm Security Act Mr. Taylor
- Bill 255 Alberta Palliative Care Foundation Act Mrs. Black
- Bill 257 Service Dogs Act Mr. Payne
- Bill 260 An Act to Amend the Alberta Health Care Insurance Act Mr. Payne
- Bill 262 Space Agencies Act Mr. Day
- Bill 265 Natural Gas Tax Rebate for Alfalfa Pelletizing Act Mr. Paszkowski
- Bill 267 An Act to Commit Government to a Five Year Funding Planning Framework — Mr. Wickman
- Bill 268 Children's Access Rights Enforcement Act Mr. Evans
 - 5

- Bill 271 An Act to Amend the Expropriation Act Mr. Lund
- Bill 273 Financial Reform Act Mr. Hawkesworth
- Bill 274 Freedom of Information and Personal Privacy Act Mr. Pashak

6

- Bill 277 Government Open Contract Act Mr. Bruseker
- Bill 279 An Act to Amend the Builders' Lien Act Mr. Taylor

David J. Carter, Speaker

Title: Friday, June 22, 1990